diy american flag overalls

IMG_9686

Originally I had planned an awesome t-shirt flag DIY idea which I surely will complete later and share but due to a few mishaps, it is not to be. Instead, I wanted to share a small, easy DIY and outfit post for 4th of July style.

But, first: People often compliment on my style and say “I could never pull that off”. And let me tell you — and this is coming from a girl who used to wear sweats and t-shirts for the better part of 5 years, YES YOU CAN. Style is all about rocking what you love and making it work. It’s not about spending lots of money on items you’ll wear once or wearing the biggest fad at the time (unless you happen to adore it), it’s about dressing to your personality and body. After many years of “never having anything to wear” and trying to fit in to a mold, I thought to heck with it and decided to try out different styles and options and somewhere along the way, I found my style. It varies and sometimes I get stuck in a rut but it has stretched me creatively to find new ways to use what I have and to let my clothes express a little piece of me instead of being defined by my clothes. It has been such a fun journey to try (and fail!) and learn what fits best and not feel pressured to buy every new trend as soon as it comes out (hi-lo dresses, chevron, crop tops, etc.) just to feel great about my wardrobe. Some of these are styles I eventually came to love and would buy but it’s great looking back at fashion fads that came and went that weren’t THAT great and not feel like I missed out on anything. As a bonafide thrifter, (and maybe later I will share a post on do and dont thrifting tips), I would encourage trying to find pieces that have come back in style (florals, for example) instead of spending lots of dough you could spend elsewhere. And it always feels like a treasure hunt when you find an awesome piece. This is why I may or may not be on hoarders one day, but it also accounts for about 90% of my wardrobe. So you decide which is the greater evil. I choose living in piles of crap later in life. All in the name of fashion, of course.

ANYWAYS, here is my DIY flag overalls. I’m going to rock these on the 4th and rock them hard. All I did was find a little flag (thrifting) and sew it onto some thicker backing. Then I just sewed them onto my (also thrifted) overalls. The rest of the outfit is up to you.

IMG_9701 IMG_9713IMG_9716 IMG_9717

Enjoy! And make sure to send us pictures of whatever great DIY project you did to show your 4th spirit! (I mean this less in a holy 4th spirit and more like cheerleading spirit. Carry on.)

Leave a Reply

