21st birthday party

Have y’all seen those 21st birthday cakes that are covered in mini bottles of alcohol and a “drunk” Barbie? Those things freak me out. Maybe this is old fashioned, but growing up I never hoped and dreamed that my 21st birthday would end with me passed out, legs up in the air, and makeup down my face. I am not sure when that became cool because honestly, it isn’t.

Instead, I pictured my 21st birthday as a fun day of celebration that included champagne, cake, and lots of dancing. Really, all your most important days should include some great dancing. For my actual 21st birthday I spent the day with my family then went out for dinner with my girlfriends the next night where we had wine, ate lots of italian food, and stayed for hours talking, laughing, and just being girly. It was super low-key but wonderful.

Here are my feelings on the big 2-1. Your birthday should not celebrate alcohol. Why? 1) Alcohol is an inanimate object. 2) That makes drinks the focus of your birthday instead of you. Your birthday should be a celebration of who you are. It should reflect what you love. Your birthday should be a party with your closest friends! If there is alcohol there, cool. If not, cool. Who cares? Make it about you! A girl only gets to turn 21 once!

So here is my prescription for a great 21st birthday party- lots of friends, feminine details, sparkles, sprinkles, laughter, and dancing. No drunk Barbies because that is just scary. Make a fun signature drink or make some mocktails. Either way, you will be having the time of your life. Ok, enough already, let’s get to some inspiration!

Anyone want to go back and pretend to be turning twenty-one again? Maybe I can convince one of my friends that we need to throw an over the top, girly, and sparkly party for her birthday. I am keeping my fingers crossed.

Party on!

One thought on “21st birthday party

  1. professional seo services

    Can I simply say what a comfort to find someone who actually knows what they’re talking about on the web. You certainly understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. A lot more people ought to look at this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised that you’re not more
    popular given that you surely possess the gift.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

